Craft naming overwrites file name and can cause craft files to be lost!
I've lost 2 craft files already when using the new craft naming function. A strange behavior occurs in which the craft name (as defined in parts) can cause the craft file name to be overwritten .
1. Make a new craft. Name it 'ABC'. Vessel name the priority part 'ABC'.
2. Make a new craft. Name it 'DEF'. Vessel name the priority part 'DEF'.
3. Now, Load 'DEF'. Change the vessel name to 'ABC', but keep the craft file 'DEF'. When you save, it will be saved to 'DEF' as expected.
4. However, if you load 'DEF', the craft file automatically changes to 'ABC'. If you're not careful and save here, you can overwrite 'ABC'!
#4 Updated by Anth12 about 3 years ago
- Status changed from Ready to Test to Needs Clarification
- % Done changed from 80 to 0
GOG 1.2.2 Clean Install
GOG 1.4.1 (core game only) Clean Install
GOG 1.4.3 (core game only) Clean Install
Nearly Fixed but not quite.
So theres another way this can happen.
1. Make a new craft. Name it 'ABC'. Save it.
2. Make a new craft. Name it 'DEF'. Save it.
3. Load DEF. Change the craft to ABC via the new naming system OR by just changing it at the top of the screen.
4. Do not save it.
4. Exit Editor to KSC screen
5. Reenter the Editor and the ABC will stay as the name of the craft.
6. Save it and there will be no warning. It will overwrite ABC and the player will be non the wiser.
Reason this needs clarification is that I can reproduce this bug without any interaction with the new naming system even in 1.2.2.
Perhaps its a completely seperate bug?
#5 Updated by jclovis3 about 3 years ago
- Status changed from Needs Clarification to Updated
- % Done changed from 0 to 10
I concur. The VAB remembers the last craft you were editing but doesn't remember if you had changed the name from the time you had loaded it. A good idea would be that upon exiting the VAB, if changes were made, the user would be prompted to discard all changes, or save. Then if they had changed the name, the save would trigger a confirmation of overwrite. The choice to discard all changes should wipe the memory of the last vessel being edited so when you enter, you start with a clean slate and can load your ship to continue working on it.